Sailing on the Schooner Woodwind

I was recently given the opportunity to sail on the Schooner Woodwind, a classic schooner that sails out in the Chesapeake Bay, by my friend John Frenyaye, the proprietor over at local news blog Eye on Annapolis.

So on a sunny Friday afternoon, my friend Morgan and I set out from the Marriott Waterfront’s back pier onto the breezy Bay. It was a perfect day for sailing, but I didn’t have to do anything. The crew of three took care of all the lines and rigging, but would occasionally ask for volunteers just to keep everyone involved.

The sailing was perfect. I personally really enjoyed this cruise. I think it is perfect for tourists who want a taste of authentic Annapolis (not like some other dreaded, tacky fake cruise boat) or even local Annapolitans who want to see another perspective. And for ultimate ambience, I hear the sunset cruise is absolutely perfect.

See my photos from the Schooner Woodwind here, at Flickr.

