[UPDATE 1] Abu Dhabi Takes Points in Shifty In-Port Race

A joyous Adil Khalid leads the victory tour onboard Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing, the in-port race winners. Photo by Ian Roman / Volvo Ocean Race.

The text that follows before the asterisk is courtesy of the Volvo Ocean Race:

Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing delivered a blow to their rivals, picking up the first points of the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12 with a commanding victory in the inaugural Iberdrola In-Port Race in Alicante, Spain.

The crew, led by British skipper Ian Walker, came out on top in a tense start to what is shaping up to be the most hotly contested edition in the race’s 38-year history.

Abu Dhabi timed their start to perfection and kept their noses in front of closest rivals CAMPER and PUMA Ocean Racing all the way to the first mark, rounding with an advantage of just 15 seconds.

As the wind died, a slick sail change from the Abu Dhabi crew saw them round the second mark 26 seconds ahead of CAMPER, who then lost territory dramatically, losing second place to PUMA’s Mar Mostro and slipping down the fleet.

Abu Dhabi held off PUMA to go through the gate ahead once again and Walker and his crew on Azzam roared home first as the wind picked up again.


Preliminary Results

please note: a protest flag has been flown by Groupama. These results are provisional and may change following the hearing and ruling of a protest.

1. Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing / Ian Walker

2. PUMA Ocean Racing / Ken Read

3. CAMPER ETNZ / Chris Nicholson

4. Team Sanya / Mike Sanderson

5. Groupama / Franck Cammas

6. Team Telefonica / Iker Martinez


Awaiting official results from race committee. Groupama has filed a protest against CAMPER, which could potentially change provisional results.