Volvo Ocean Race: Alicante – Cape Town Crews Announced

Photo by Ian Roman / Volvo Ocean Race.


The crews who will compete in the opening offshore battle of the Volvo Ocean Race have been named by the six competing teams. Each team were required to name their 11 sailors ahead of tomorrow’s race start at 1400 local time (1300 GMT) – and here they are…
Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing:

Ian Walker, GBR – Helmsman

Justin Slattery, IRL – Bowman

Wade Morgan, AUS – Bowman

Adil Khalid, UAE – Trimmer

Craig Satterthwaite, NZL – Watch leader

Justin Ferris, NZL – Helmsman/trimmer

Simon Fisher, GBR – Helmsman/trimmer

Andrew Lewis, USA – Helmsman/trimmer

Rob Greenhalgh, GBR         – Watch Leader

Jules Salter, GBR – Navigator

Nick Dana, USA – MCM

CAMPER with Emirates Team New Zealand:

Chris Nicholson, AUS – Skipper

Tony Rae, NZL – Helmsman/trimmer

Will Oxley, AUS – Navigator

Robert Salthouse, NZL        – Helmsman/trimmer

Roberto Bermudez, ESP – Helmsman/trimmer

Stu Bannatyne          , NZL – Co-skipper/watch captain

Andrew McLean, NZL – Co-navigator/watch captain

Daryl Wislang, NZL – Helmsman/bowman

Mike Pammenter, RSA – Bowman/boat captain

Adam Minoprio, NZL – Helmsman/trimmer

Hamish Hooper, NZL – MCM

Groupama sailing team:

Franck Cammas, FRA – Skipper

Jean Luc Nelias, FRA – Navigator

Charles Caudrelier, FRA

Martin Stromberg, SWE

Martin Krite, SWE

Brad Marsh, NZL

Erwan Israel, FRA

Damian Foxall, IRE

Thomas Coville, FRA

Phil Harmer, AUS

Yann Riou, FRA – MCM

PUMA Ocean Racing powered by BERG:

Ken Read, USA – Skipper/helm

Tom Addis, AUS – Navigator

Kelvin Harrap, NZL – Helmsman/trimmer

Brad Jackson, NZL – Watch captain

Tony Mutter, NZL – Watch captain

Ryan Godfrey, AUS – Helmsman/trimmer

Rome Kirby, USA – Helmsman/trimmer

Jono Swain, USA – Helmsman/trimmer

Michi Mueller, GER – Bowman

Casey Smith, AUS – Bowman

Amory Ross, USA – MCM

Team Sanya:

Mike Sanderson, NZL – Skipper / Helm

Aksel Magdahl         , NOR – Navigator

Cameron Dunn, NZL – Tactician

Chris Main, NZL – Mainsheet Trimmer

Richard Mason, NZL – Pit

Ryan Houston, NZL – Trimmer

David Swete, NZL – Grinder

Bert Schandevyl, BEL – Mid bow

Teng Jiang He, CHN – Grinder

Andy Meiklejohn, NZL – Bowman

Andres Soriano, ESP – MCM

Team Telefónica:

Iker Martínez, ESP – Skipper

Andrew Cape, AUS – Navigator

Jordi Calafat, ESP – Trimmer/helmsman

Pepe Ribes, ESP – Boat captain

Zane Gills, AUS – Bowman

Antonio Cuervas-Mons, ESP – Bowman

Xabi Fernández, ESP –          Trimmer

Pablo Arrarte, ESP – Trimmer

Jaoa Signorini, BRA – Watch captain

Neal McDonald, UK – Watch captain

Diego Fructuoso, ESP – MCM


One response to “Volvo Ocean Race: Alicante – Cape Town Crews Announced

  1. Pingback: Volvo Ocean Race Starts Tomorrow with Leg to Cape Town | The Racing Winds Blog·

Comments are closed.