Into the Clouds: The Racing Winds Blog Says Goodbye

On Friday, June 21, we will publish our last post on the Racing Winds Blog. It has been an incredible four years.

In May 2009, after I published my novelRacing Winds, I was given an opportunity by the Volvo Ocean Race to come to Boston and cover the 2009-2010 edition of the race. For me, at the time a lowly eighth-grader, it was a trip that was beyond imagination, almost incomprehensible. Later that month, The Racing Winds Blog was born as a product of that excitement.

With Price Faisal bin Abdullah bin Mohammed of Saudia Arabia, Boston 2009. Photo: Drea Catalano / Getty Images.

With Price Faisal bin Abdullah bin Mohammed of Saudia Arabia, Boston 2009. Photo: Drea Catalano / Getty Images.

I’m unafraid to admit that this blog hasn’t always been successful. Throughout the first two years, things were spotty. The concept of blogging was new to me, and I lacked the commitment and skills that were necessary to propel this project forward. But as I matured, the blog did as well.

I’m incredibly grateful for the people and companies who helped me to grow this Blog, who believed in the work that I was doing, and who were generous enough to lend support, advice, or access. Thank you.

For me, though, the journey doesn’t end here. I’m currently working with some fantastic travel writers and photographers, and will be launching Arteko: The exploration collective later this summer. It’s a project I couldn’t be more excited about, and I’m so looking forward to the opportunity to work with some incredible people whom I admire greatly.

I’ve also joined Airchive.com as a correspondent, and will soon begin writing there about all things aviation.

To all the readers, subscribers, and adventurers who have supported The Racing Winds Blog over the past four years, thank you. It’s been a fantastic journey.

Fondly,

WhiteSquare1

 

 

 

 

Taylor Michie

Founder and editor-in-chief, The Racing Winds Blog

2 responses to “Into the Clouds: The Racing Winds Blog Says Goodbye

  1. Wow! Congratulations Taylor! What an exciting future you have ahead of you. Good luck and we’ll be monitoring your successes!

    Sylvester & Darin

Comments are closed.